Unpopular Book Opinion Tag

I wasn’t actually tagged for this, but I really love this so I decided that I was going to do it with my new blog. Because I’m a rebel like that.

1. A Popular Book or series that you didn’t like.

There’s so many in all honesty, but I’ll narrow it down to some of the most frustrating reads I’ve been faced with. Starting with Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. I was super excited about this book, but from the start I disliked. I know a LOT of people love this book and I can see why. There’s a mixed race main character. Which is always a huge plus in my book. But the book was so unrealistic in the medical sense. That nurse would have freaked the hell out when she snuck out. After all, she’s supposed to be dead if she’s exposed to anything. As a nurse, even one that has some doubts about her condition, you wouldn’t just invite her in. You’d make her go somewhere so she doesn’t die. Even more so if you supposedly care for her! And financially. This book loved to use credit cards as magically paying for everything without paying it back. Lets go live on our own on a credit card!! That’s not how that works and I’m seriously afraid people will think that.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. I enjoyed the first book when I first read it, so I was super excited for the second book. Which, I admit I regret reading. I wish I never had. It was just horrible and I just sat there the whole time wanting to throw the book. I know I rolled my eyes through the whole book. I honestly have zero interest finding out what happens after reading that book. It went from something kinda really interesting to something so stupid I actually cheered when I finished. And I’m not even sorry for thinking this.

Deathless by Catherynne M. Valente. I went into this book thinking it was going to be my new favourite book. And the idea of this book was great. I was totally hooked when I first started! But then it started skipping when important stuff started happening and I became so frustrated. I wanted to know what was happening when the skips took place. And instead, we only got small mentions of these life changing events. I was so utterly frustrated about this book. I’m normally fine with skipping, because sometimes you really need to get past some of those areas that dragged. But this story it kept those areas that dragged and were boring and skipped over things that were important to the character. Right when it got good, you didn’t get to read about it.

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. Didn’t finish, have zero interest in finishing. Honestly, I got caught up in the hype and I wish I never bought it. The book is just bland, the characters all typical tropes and the characters just whine nonstop. Also, the author put me off. She’s a tad racist. You don’t make a character and put the time into them and not know the heritage of them. You can’t get away saying she’s mixed and then let fans make her white and do nothing. It’s frustrating. If she can’t be bothered to put the time into her stories, I can’t put the time into reading it.

2. A Popular Book or series that every one else seems to hate but you love.

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. This series people either love or hate. And I’m one of those people who LOVE this series. I love Blue. The boys, I can give or take with most of them. But I love the magic and how it’s portrayed in this book and how it reflects in how magic is actually used in the world (as a newbie witch, I know that much at least). I was basically hooked from the first book. I even dressed as Blue for Halloween (though badly) a few years ago.

3. A Love Triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with (warn ppl for spoilers) OR an OTP that you don’t like.

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo. I’m going to make this quick and simple without spoiling it. Alina deserved better. Honestly, I’d have been happy with her ending up with ANYONE BUT WHO SHE ENDS UP WITH.

4. A popular book Genre that you hardly reach for.

Honestly, I’ll try anything. But the one I probably dislike the most is Christian Fiction. I’ve tried it (though I admit I didn’t know the book was that until AFTER) and honestly, they shove it down your throat. I’m fine with books that talk about religion as long as they DON’T shove it down your throat. The book I read would have been pretty good if they hadn’t do that. Even more so when that part actually didn’t go with the book at all. It felt like it came out of left field and I didn’t bother finishing it. Give me anything than a book that tries to force something that doesn’t even go with the story.

Also Horror. I’m a wimp and get nightmares from stuff like The Silkworm and The Diviners. Both of which I’m not aloud to finish until I can stop waking up gasping and freaking out during the night.

5. A popular or beloved character that you do not like.

Mal from Shadow and Bone, Snape from Harry Potter, Gale from the Hunger Games, Josh from To All The Boys I Loved Before. Basically, any guy that’s a dick and takes advantage of people/are obsessive, or whatever. That trope needs to go away. You don’t own people. Go awayyyy.

6. A popular author that you can’t seem to get into.

Marie Lu. I’ve tried both The Young Elites and Legend, and I really just can’t get into her writing style and stories. I just get so frustrated about it.

7. A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing. (examples “lost princess”, corrupt ruler, love triangles, etc.)

‘I’m not like most girls’, ‘hot nerd’, ‘dark white boy that only a white girl can fix’, ‘PoC that’s passable as white so I can sell books’. I would take unneeded love triangles over these.

8. A popular series that you have no interest in reading.

The Selection by Kiera Cass . I know it’s popular, but I don’t know, the whole idea isn’t for me. Plus, a friend of mine read it and got super fed up with it and we have really similar taste, so I know I won’t like it.

9. The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

The Shadowhunters TV show. I didn’t like the books (okay, I only read the first one) and I had zero interest in the movie (dude, they were WAY TOO OLD to pass as 16 year olds). Honestly, I love the changes I’ve seen. It’s a lot more interesting then the book was. I’m hooked on it. I know a lot of people don’t like it for the acting, but I’ve already noticed growth in it. Some times it takes a while for young actors to get into it. I’ve seen it in a lot of shows. Plus, the acting in it is still better than Supergirl.

—–

So yeah, this is one way to start a new blog. But this way you’ll know if you’ll want to stick around to see future posts if you agree with my opinions. And please, no hate. You don’t have to agree with me, but I’m not going to argue over it. This is my own opinion and I’m not trying to make you think the same way.

Leave a Reply

