Painting The Roses Red

27209234

Wonderland: A Coloring Book Inspired by Alice’s Adventures

by Amily Shen
Yes another review for another colouring book. But come on, I’m a sucker for them, if you haven’t noticed by now (it has become a bit of a habit of me requesting them instead of book books). And who wouldn’t want an Alice in Wonderland colouring book?
My first impression – Another great cover that has a book jacket with more pictures on the main cover. I love colouring books with book jackets. I think it fun and adorable. Even better, the inside of the jacket has pictures you can even colour. Their just giving you more and more to actually colour and use and in creative ways. This colouring book makes the story of Alice your story, in a modern twist of it. Which I personally do enjoy. It gives you more freedom to how you colour things. It also gives you a few activities within it such as finding items and completing the a picture of butterflies (both of which I’ve noticed in my other colouring books as a way to get the person using the book more involved beyond just colouring). I do like the art. The lines are nice and thin. I think that the art brings a lot of detail to the pictures, but also leaves you enough to add your own if you wanted to. I like the feel of the art. It does remind me a lot of Wonderland in it’s own way (also, there’s a few pages of food in it that looks super yummy. Guess who’s hungry now?).
Pen to Paper Time – The paper isn’t as thick as some of my other colouring books, so I don’t think it would exactly be a good fit for markers (but you might get lucky and it won’t bleed into the picture on the other side of the page) or water colours (which I’ve been doing with some of my thicker colouring books lately). I really loved how soft and smooth the pen was on the paper. It wasn’t grating to move it and to focus on smaller details. However, the ink on the page did smudge with lighter colours and it the pigment of the pens wasn’t applying smooth to the paper, despite the paper being so smooth. That’s the problem with paper like that, sadly. The colour doesn’t always work with it and smudges easily and then doesn’t settle on the paper well. Which is sort of a bummer. Because the pictures are beautiful and it leaves you wanting to add colour to make it more beautiful and alive.
As a rating for this colouring book I’d probably give it 3 stars despite the issues. I think the art saves it. Even if it doesn’t work overly well. I think that most people won’t mind these issues if they simply just want to colour. It’s more of something that artists tend to notice more simply because of practice of seeing and spotting these things as they work. I think that over all, most people won’t mind it. And honestly, I don’t too much, but simply wanted to convey the facts for this honest review. It’s still a great book and the patterns are great for stress relief.
Rating – 3 stars
Leave a Reply

