Read Women, Reviews

Read Women Review #1: Buffering to Better Mental Health.

28217831

Buffering: Unshared Tales of a Life Fully Loaded

by Hannah Hart

By combing through the journals that Hannah has kept for much of her life, this collection of narrative essays deliver a fuller picture of her life, her experiences, and the things she’s figured out about family, faith, love, sexuality, self-worth, friendship and fame.

Revealing what makes Hannah tick, this sometimes cringe-worthy, poignant collection of stories is sure to deliver plenty of Hannah’s wit and wisdom, and hopefully encourage you to try your hand at her patented brand of reckless optimism.

 

This book was NOTHING like I expected it to be. And yet, it was exactly what I needed it to be. I’ve loved Hannah Hart for a while now. She’s a generally amazing person. So I jumped at the chance to read this book and have it my first review for this new feature I’m adding now that summer is done – to share women authors and reviews for them for their soon to be releases.

And I’m happy I chose Hannah’s book to start with. For starters, this book’s introduction thing is done by none other than Jenny Lawson, who is one of my favourite authors. Funny AND is a huge advocate to get awareness of mental illness out there. I didn’t get that connection at first. I just assumed they were friends for being funny ladies.

But Hannah starts this book out with a warning. And this is my warning – this book deals heavily with mental illness, neglect, self-harm, ect. Because that’s Hannah’s true story, the story she hasn’t told until now. It runs in her family and in her. Yes, it tells us the things we do know about Hannah – she’s gay, she’s awesome, she’s caring, she’s funny. But this book tells us why. It shows and shares her heart.

I don’t want to spoil things about this book. I think it’s better to go into this book without that, like I did. It leaves a bigger impression in my opinion. But I will say I found it well written and a bit addicting. Hannah’s book was the first time I saw my own mental illness actually acknowledged and left me crying. Although she wasn’t the one who shares it with me, the way she described it was dead on and left me feeling less alone. Her own struggles also hit home. I related to her more than I thought I ever could. She knows just how to write mental illness without it being harsh. It was a joy to read. And it made Hannah human, not just some Youtube star that seems nice enough, but who knows if she really is. If she’s like she is in her own book, I feel like I said bye to a good friend by the end of it.

Rating – 4.5 stars

Leave a Reply

