I Heart Tash

29414576

Tash Hearts Tolstoy

by Kathryn Ormsbee and K.E. Ormsbee

After a shout-out from one of the Internet’s superstar vloggers, Natasha “Tash” Zelenka finds herself and her obscure, amateur web series, Unhappy Families, thrust into the limelight: She’s gone viral.

This book was the perfect read for my spring break from school. I needed it. It was a fun read. The characters were vibrant, the plot and idea of how someone can become internet famous overnight is something that’s real and insane in this day and age. We’ve all watched some sort of web series on youtube from Camilla to Frankenstein MD. We all know how they can become a thing and take flight overnight due to social media and fan followings.

But the best part of this read was this: Tash is Asexual. And her portrayal of Asexual was actually dead on. I would know, I fall on the Ace Spectrum myself. Admittedly, I was both terrified and horribly excited when I was approved to read this ARC. And admittedly, I’m so happy it happened. Because I can come out and tell other people who are Ace that this book did good. Her thoughts and worries are the same as many of us face and fear facing. Her relationships with different characters are complicated and she isn’t even overly sure how to share the truth with them, which we learn was understandable due to a rather horrible experience with someone when she does tell them.

All and all, this book was well written and simply fun. It follows an amazing and beautiful friendship, a summer of fun, but also deals with hard truths that comes with growing up. The flow of this book is beautiful and there never seems to be a dull moment in it. I honestly ate this book up and couldn’t bring myself to put it down, even falling asleep while reading it more than once because I simply needed to know more but my mind simply couldn’t stay on any longer and had to flip back to where I could clearly remember reading before the dozing started.

I highly recommend it if you need a light read or a summer read. Yes, there are some tough things that pop up, but I think it was handled well, surprisingly. That and the fact fame sadly comes with a price when the internet has so many trolls and haters out there. The friendship in this book was pure magic and it does make you look back at your own time in high school and wonder why you haven’t accomplished half as much as these kids. But hey, some of us spent our summers being lazy.

Rating: 5 stars 

Leave a Reply

