Own Voice Authors, Read Women, Reviews

Review: Love, Hate, and Other Filters

31207017.jpg

 Love, Hate & Other Filters

by Samira Ahmed

A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape–perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera.
American-born seventeen-year-old Maya Aziz is torn between worlds. There’s the proper one her parents expect for their good Indian daughter: attending a college close to their suburban Chicago home, and being paired off with an older Muslim boy her mom deems “suitable.” And then there is the world of her dreams: going to film school and living in New York City—and maybe (just maybe) pursuing a boy she’s known from afar since grade school, a boy who’s finally falling into her orbit at school.
There’s also the real world, beyond Maya’s control. In the aftermath of a horrific crime perpetrated hundreds of miles away, her life is turned upside down. The community she’s known since birth becomes unrecognizable; neighbors and classmates alike are consumed with fear, bigotry, and hatred. Ultimately, Maya must find the strength within to determine where she truly belongs.

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

 

My first review on here for the year and it was definitely worth the wait. This own voice story is already my favourite read so far this year and we’re only almost done Januaray now.

This story is about Maya, an Indian Muslim teen living in white suburbia, being the only brown person in town besides her parents. The title tells you exactly what to expect from this story, Maya finds love in different forms, finds hate in different forms, and moving past traumatic experiences. Maya finds love of a friendship of a fellow Muslim Indian, who her parents would have loved for her to date, but it didn’t work that way. She finds love in a boy named Phil who seems to like her, but walls get put in their way when a terrorist attack occurs in their state, leaving Maya and her family threatened and even attacked. But Maya manages it all as the strong young woman she is, an insane amount of character growth left in her wake.

This book does something that isn’t done too often. It tells the story of Maya but at the end of each chapter talks about the coming terrorist attack. It’s done in both first person and third person, giving the read a whole new perspective of the read.

The writing in this story was drop dead amazing. I fell with Maya in swoony dreams over the boys she crushes on (despite not liking boys myself, it was simply impossible not to get caught up in her own emotions), the real fear after such traumatic events, leaving me with a number of panic attacks as some of you know. However, that in itself is good. I would hope a book that dealt with tough issues would cause the reader to panic with the main character, to feel all their feelings. And in the world we live in today, a lot of us still have trauma from these sort of events that it’s hard not to let these emotions coming rushing from you. Not only that, but much as other books that deal with tough family situations that leave children in a tough disiciouson, without any spoilers, I felt for Maya at the end of the book, having to face such a choice myself with my own father. For someone who also faced such a reality, it isn’t easy, but I do believe she made the right choice for her, even if her parents couldn’t agree.

Would I recommend? 100%. Go get this book. Read it, love it. Come back here and gush about it for me.

What do you guys think of books that deal with tough issues that we deal with so often such as bigotry, islamaphobia, racism, terrorism, and more? What are some of your favourite own voice stories you’ve read so far?

Advertisements

1 thought on “Review: Love, Hate, and Other Filters”

  1. Being an Indian-Muslim my self, I related so much to Maya and her family. I absolutely loved this book with all my heart. Books dealing with such topics as terrorism and political issues are so important. I’m so glad you enjoyed it.
    Hope you enjoy your week! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s